» Newbie Here
Mon Jan 15, 2018 8:56 am by mikes

» New 17T / 20T piston for sale.
Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:38 pm by rob spence

****A Resistance Wire to the Wipac Light switch?****

View previous topic View next topic Go down

****A Resistance Wire to the Wipac Light switch?****

Post  mattb31daytona on Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:27 am

Totlly rewiring one the Falcon which has the twin Wipac switches and I am informed is wired up exactly the same as the Cruiser 80 / 84.

What is confusing me is that the wiring diagram shows the lead direct from the Battery + to the lightswitch is shown as a resistance wire - what does this mean? and will it make any difference if I just use standard automotive wire direct from Battery + to the switch?

Matt

mattb31daytona

Back to top Go down

resistance wire

Post  kerabo on Fri Jul 23, 2010 12:57 pm

Hi Matt

It does matter I am adraid. I would have to look again at the diagram to refresh my memory but I think when the lights are off the wire soaks up the extra charge to keep it just above the centre of the meter at normal crusing speed. When you open the loom you will find a wire about 1m long covered in a heat resistant sheild.This wire looks like a thick fuse wire. I think there is a shorter one in as well.. Now Tony Woods is doing the same thing and he is going to try to find a resistor of the same value to put instead of the wire. I am not sure if this will work as most resistors only flow one way. If you want to talk with him PM me and I will give you his number.

Ken
kerabo

Location : Falcon 87. Trials 93 Special. Powerbike 56. Falcon 81 Green Lane bitsa. Sunbeam S8. Honda Deuville.

Back to top Go down

Resistance wire

Post  davejose on Fri Jul 23, 2010 3:40 pm

Hi Matt I have the same issue with my Falcon 87 the previous owner has replaced rhe resistance wire and put an in lnline resistor in the head lamp it seems to do the trick. I will have a look at mine and see if I can find the value of the resistor and type and let you know.