» Newbie Here
Mon Jan 15, 2018 8:56 am by mikes

» New 17T / 20T piston for sale.
Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:38 pm by rob spence

coil/ condensor fault..

View previous topic View next topic Go down

coil/ condensor fault..

Post  john87 on Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:57 pm

Ok, have any of you ever had a faulty condensor and what were the symptoms??

I knew my coil was knackered. The bike ran even though the secondary was open circuit. BUT, once it got hot, it would stop until it had cooled down for a bit.

I fitted a new coil, one of the modern replica ones. For about three miles the bike ran much better. It was a LOT smoother at low revs, even though you could not detect any misfiring originally. Made a hell of a difference. Three miles later, the thing went a bit funny started to miss a lot for about 20 yards, and then stopped..

Now, you can start it easily enough, although it tries to kick back sometimes. but is will only run for a few seconds and then stop.

I have tried different [but still 60 year old] condensors but it made no difference [apart from the kicking back got worse].. Some times you can get it running for a few minutes, but it is like every few seconds someone is pressing a kill switch, and then it will catch and continue to run, until it finally stops..

I have seen cars with faulty condensors. All that happened to them was that they would start easily, but any attempt to rev them up, or drive them, and they would simply stop, or run terribly..

When it is running you can see sparking at the points, continuously, but not terrible. Is this normal?? Being used to cars, i have never actually looked at points before when a engine is running!!

john..

john87

Back to top Go down

Re: coil/ condensor fault..

Post  Farley on Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:41 pm

I use a modern made capacitor, 0.2microFarads with a peak voltage of no less than 450V . The new ones are cheap and they last for ages.