» Plover with Engine Number 12T 5090
Yesterday at 7:26 am by piston 197

splitting the Villiers 9e Crankcases

View previous topic View next topic Go down

splitting the Villiers 9e Crankcases

Post  talha on Sat Apr 08, 2017 7:48 pm

Hi Guys

How to split the crankcase of Villiers 9e engine. i have remove all bolts
the crankcase can slighted/moved , i tried to tap the crankshaft with rubber hammer with no luck. do i need to remove seals ?
what is best manual for villiers engine repairs ?

Sorry i am just learning these skills Thanks

Regards

talha

Back to top Go down

Tool

Post  ChrisTurner on Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:11 am

According to the official manual, you can remove the flywheel side crankcase by pulling it free leaving the crankshaft in the drive side crankcase. You need a special extractor to remove the crankshaft from the drive side crankcase. The Villiers manual is available to purchase through the club I believe but if not, I am sure someone will let you have a copy.

Last edited by ChrisTurner on Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:17 pm; edited 1 time in total
ChrisTurner

http://www.formulaonesidecar.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Cases

Post  Bigjim on Sun Apr 09, 2017 12:47 pm

The manual suggests that you warm up the cases. I used a heat gun, the electric type. then a gentle tap with a soft faced mallet. refitting, do the same. remember that there are 2 studs that need gentle tapping in to centralise the cases. All studs are the same, but the 2 holes are machined for a tight fit.
Always fit new seals, the cost is small, but worth the small effort. Getting the bearing outer races out, requires a heat and a little persuasion.
Bigjim

Back to top Go down

... and don't forget

Post  ChrisTurner on Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:19 pm

there is a criclip that holds the flywheel side main bearing in place. if you try to remove the bearing with the circlip still located, you willl damage the cases.
ChrisTurner

http://www.formulaonesidecar.co.uk

Back to top Go down