» Pub meet FFOC welcome
Mon Jan 15, 2018 3:32 pm by kerabo

» Newbie Here
Mon Jan 15, 2018 8:56 am by mikes

Frame Number location

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Frame Number location

Post  Alan Davies on Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:51 pm

Hi, late dads 87 Falcon project underway - restoring it in memory of the great man. Can I find the frame number? No I can't!! I have searched and searched the internet and can only find references to "the left hand side of the head stock". I've looked there and I can see nowt. Could someone post a photo with an arrow pointing exactly where I'm supposed to find it!! Reading the forums, I understand that unusually they can be missing or perhaps its been in an accident and repaired, hence lost? Is this pub talk?
Yours, extremely grateful.
"Alan of Dorset"

Alan Davies

Back to top Go down

Re: Frame Number location

Post  Jack Clegg on Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:48 pm

Hi Alan, if you cannot find it on the left side headstock, look again for signs of filing or polishing. That is where it should be. Most likely removed, but could be an anomaly.
TTFN Jack
Jack Clegg

http://jackclegg.com

Back to top Go down

Post  Alan Davies on Mon Sep 14, 2015 7:48 pm

Cheers Jack - I will keep looking - if all else fails I guess I will need to source another frame with V5 to get it registered etc.... I hope to attend a meet sometime and so may get a chance to look at a bike and see exactly what I'm looking for. On the other side (right) the raised casting number is still clear.
Kind regards
Alan

Alan Davies

Back to top Go down

Post  Jack Clegg on Mon Sep 14, 2015 9:10 pm

Hi Alan, no need to source another frame if yours is good in all other ways, just source some stamps & research the correct prefix & pick the right five figure number.