Mon Jan 15, 2018 4:30 pm by kerabo

» Pub meet FFOC welcome
Mon Jan 15, 2018 3:32 pm by kerabo

FB Merlin total beginners questions.

View previous topic View next topic Go down

FB Merlin total beginners questions.

Post  NDHAERO on Tue Feb 10, 2015 7:09 pm

Hi,

I am totally new to this, literally, only got my Merlin this morning! I've never ridden a bike before, and the bike didn't come with any manual. Looking into things, I believe it is a Model 52 (no battery, so assume direct lighting?). It appears to be original, and in good order. Frame is PPLxxxxx, and Engine is EG18xxxxx

So, onto my questions - Is there a general manual for the Merlin? I have found the spares catalogue, but can't seem to find a manual with a GA drawing and parts identification, and general running specs?

Leading on from the above, what fuel is recommended? I assume it being a 1950's bike it is pre-unleaded, so what modern fuel is recommend? Same with oil?

One part missing is the contents of the tool box. I intend to use this as a commuter bike, so would be interested in knowing what tools should be carried, and I guess from other members, what are the regular issues with Merlins?

Being a 1950 bike it is in the days of hand signals, I would prefer to use indicators, is there an easy mod I can do to add some? Is there any other common modernisations people carry out?

Finally, and most importantly, how do I start it? Is it just a matter of putting it in neutral and kick starting?

Many, many thanks in advance. I know there is a lot here, but it is my first day, so please bear with me.

Nick.

NDHAERO

Back to top Go down

merlin

Post  andy-s on Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:18 pm

Hi Nick,