» Newbie Here
Mon Jan 15, 2018 8:56 am by mikes

» New 17T / 20T piston for sale.
Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:38 pm by rob spence

a few questions about my francis barnett 87

View previous topic View next topic Go down

a few questions about my francis barnett 87

Post  alf barnett on Mon Feb 17, 2014 12:22 pm

hi all i,m thinking of putting the barnett on the road this year...(there,s photo,s of it in the gallery)i have the v5c and is very tidy here goes...
1 do all falcons (amc engine) have a load exhaust note..eg sounds like an expansion chamber ????
2 every thing works lights etc and i,ve put a solid state rectifor on...but there,s a wire in a sleeve on it,s own (running along the side of the wiring loom)that seems to get hot when the bikes running.it cools down though when the lights are switched on..is that how it,s supposed to be (a sort of heat sink) this is the only real concern that stops me putting it on the road ...and it needs using i,ve had it a good while now ...thanks for any help in advance alf  Question
alf barnett

Back to top Go down

loud,?

Post  piston 197 on Mon Feb 17, 2014 1:14 pm

I would guess you have a pattern exhaust without the ring baffles and./or a pattern front pipe without the baffled section ? doues your silencer clamp on to the exhaust or is there a clamp around the pipe with the silencer butted against it with an insulated cup washer, The latter system is correct
JH
piston 197

Back to top Go down

Re: a few questions about my francis barnett 87

Post  alf barnett on Mon Feb 17, 2014 1:21 pm

the front pipe does have a long baffle that slips into the exhaust ..but mine as done away with the rubber and clamp and is welded as one unit...i was told this joint was never very strong so i welded it...it sounds like the video of an early barnett i,ve just watched on the forum..but that engine was a villiers and it seemed to have an open four stroke silencer on ???
alf barnett

Back to top Go down

loud exhaust