» Pub meet FFOC welcome
Mon Jan 15, 2018 3:32 pm by kerabo

» Newbie Here
Mon Jan 15, 2018 8:56 am by mikes

Fitting front brake on wrong side

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Fitting front brake on wrong side

Post  falcone on Tue Sep 10, 2013 8:58 pm

Having read a previous post, it has occurred to me that I may be able to fit the front brake of my Falcon 58 on the wrong (ie left) side. I would like to do this as due to disability I need to have the brake lever on the left, and it would mean that I could use the existing brake cable (thus saving me the trouble of making a new lengthened one. Does anyone know a reason why I couldn't or shouldn't do this?
Thanks
Marcus

falcone

Back to top Go down

Re: Fitting front brake on wrong side

Post  Blair on Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:49 am

Marcus,

could you not leave the brake where it is, and simply route a (longer) cable from the front brake actuating lever to the left handlebar lever? You might need to add a few inches to the cable, but someone who supplies cables could easily make one up for you to a custom length.

My Falcon 70 has the front brake on the LHS as standard, so if you really wanted to reverse your front brake setup and stick it on the LHS, then that would be no different from what the factory sometimes did.

Are you moving the clutch operation over to the right hand handlebar lever?  I think it was Indian motorcycles supplied to the US traffic police in the 40's and 50's which had the throttle twist grip on the left hand side.  The idea was that the officer could draw his gun with his right hand and fire it, while continuing to pursue the wrongdoer.

Cheers,

Blair
Blair

Location : Glasgow, West End. 1954 Falcon 70 (3speed), 2012 Enfield Electra EFI

Back to top Go down

Post  Top Dog on Wed Sep 11, 2013 4:40 am

Marcus,