» Pub meet FFOC welcome
Mon Jan 15, 2018 3:32 pm by kerabo

» Newbie Here
Mon Jan 15, 2018 8:56 am by mikes

Clutch release problem

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Clutch release problem

Post  RJF70 on Tue May 07, 2013 3:26 pm

Hi All, My name is Rich and live in Coventry, I have been asked by a friend to look at his Francis Barnett bike as the clutch lever wont dis engage unless you leave 2 fingers behind it and push it out! On removal of casing all looks ok and resistance on clutch spring is good although whether it is strong enough to pull clutch lever back or not I wouldn't know. I have lubed cable as that is rough but made no difference so is it a common problem and how deep do you have to dig to cure it as have worked a lot on 2 stroke bikes top ends etc but gearboxes do scare me a little! Also it has had a new Amal carb but wont idle or rev through so guessing it needs setting up, so what are the settings on mixture etc? Any help would be much appreciated as I am hooked now on these bikes and would like to eventually purchase one for myself and fix this one. Also engine number is M25T18227 and frame YC10013 if anybody can shed some light on specifications etc?
Cheers Rich..

RJF70

Back to top Go down

Re: Clutch release problem

Post  Jack Clegg on Tue May 07, 2013 9:51 pm

YC is 1957 model Cruiser 80, 25T the 250cc AMC grenade (I'm not a fan).

Not familiar with AMC clutch, but it's usually only the clutch springs which force the whole actuating train back, from pushrod to arm to cable to lever. Maybe the long push rod is bent or some other piece binding somewhere?

Carb was an Amal Monobloc 389, but does the new one have the same jets & slide as the old?

When you get one, get one with a Villiers engine, 8E 197cc Falcon models from 1951-56 are the nicest.
Jack Clegg

http://jackclegg.com

Back to top Go down

Clutch

Post  kerabo on Wed May 08, 2013 4:32 pm